Big 10 Academic Alliance

The Big 10 Academic Alliance, formerly the Committee on Institutional Cooperation, is a consortium of the 14 members of the Big Ten Conference. The mission is to advance academic excellence by sharing resources and promoting and coordinating collaborative activities across the member universities. The Big 10 Academic Alliance is guided by the Provosts of the member universities. Click here to watch a video overview of the Big 10 Academic Alliance, its programs, and its impact.

Academic Leadership Program (ALP)

Established in 1987, the ALP is designed to develop the leadership and managerial skills of faculty on Big 10 Academic Alliance campuses who have demonstrated exceptional ability and administrative promise.

The ALP Fellows for 2016-17 are:

Kathryn Drager, Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Programs, College of Health and Human Development

Zaryab Iqbal, 2016-17 Administrative Fellow to the Executive Vice President and Provost, and Associate Professor of Political Science, College of the Liberal Arts

Ford Risley, Associate Dean for Undergraduate and Graduate Studies, College of Communications

Jeanine Staples, Associate Professor of Literacy and Language, and African American Studies, College of Education

Matthew C. Woessner, 2016-17 University Faculty Senate Chair-Elect, and Associate Professor of Political Science and Public Policy, Penn State Harrisburg

Department Executive Officers Program (DEO)

In 1997-98 the Big 10 Academic Alliance initiated an annual program of leadership development opportunities for department heads and chairs. Institutional team participants include seasoned veterans as well as newer department heads and chairs.

The 2016-17 DEO participants are:

Carolee Bull, Professor and Head, Department of Plant Pathology and Environmental Microbiology, College of Agricultural Sciences

Karen Estlund, Associate Dean and Associate Professor, Technology and Digital Strategies, University Libraries

Patria De Lancer Julnes, Director and Professor, School of Public Affairs, Penn State Harrisburg

Phillip Savage, Professor and Head, Department of Chemical Engineering, College of Engineering

Rose Mary Zbiek, Professor and Head, Department of Curriculum & Instruction, College of Education


Vice Provost for Academic Affairs Directory


Vice Provost for Academic Affairs
201 Old Main
University Park, PA 16802
Phone: (814) 863-7494

Questions regarding web issues, please contact 814-863-7494

Web page last modified October 11, 2016