Engineering faculty, staff, alumni to be honored for exceptional contributions

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. – Penn State College of Engineering will recognize faculty, staff and alumni for their outstanding teaching, research, advising and service at a ceremony at 3 p.m. on Oct. 1, in the Hintz Family Alumni Center.

The annual awards are sponsored by the Penn State Engineering Alumni Society.

The Outstanding Teaching Award will be given to Vikash Gayah, assistant professor of civil engineering; Reuben Kraft, assistant professor of mechanical engineering and biomedical engineering; and Robert Rioux, Friedrich G. Helfferich Professor of Chemical Engineering.

Darrell Velegol, distinguished professor of chemical engineering, will receive the Premier Teaching Award.

The Outstanding Research Award will be presented to Manish Kumar, associate professor of chemical engineering, biomedical engineering and civil and environmental engineering; Guohong Cao, distinguished professor of computer science and engineering; Scott Milner, William H. Joyce Chair Professor of Chemical Engineering; Jian Yang, professor of biomedical engineering; and Uday Shanbhag, Gary and Sheila Bello Chair Professor of Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering.

Mahmut Kandemir, professor of computer science and engineering, will be honored with the Premier Research Award.

The World-Class Engineering Faculty Award will be given to Kathryn Jablokow, professor of engineering design and mechanical and nuclear engineering.

The Outstanding Advising Award will be presented to Stephanie Velegol, associate teaching professor of chemical engineering; Patrick McDaniel, Distinguished Professor of Computer Science and Engineering; and Martin Pietrucha, professor of civil engineering.

David Faulds, laboratories supervisor in civil and environmental engineering, is the recipient of the Dean’s Circle of Excellence Award.

The Outstanding Staff Award will be given to Michelle Aungst, academic records manager in academics, advising and global programs; Erin Rogers, proposal and award generalist in electrical engineering; and Roger Dunlap, facilities representative in chemical engineering.

Erin Hostetler, director of student research and engagement in the Center for Engineering Outreach and Inclusion, will receive the Equity and Inclusion Award.

The Staff Innovation Award will be presented to Jennifer Matthews, communications strategist in civil and environmental engineering.

Mandy Engel-Herbert, records specialist and undergraduate staff assistant in industrial and manufacturing engineering, will be honored with the Spirit Award.

The Rising Star Award goes to Jeffrey “JR” Watson, facilities representative/safety officer in electrical engineering.

Jennifer Saltsgiver, assistant director of the Engineering Advising Center, will receive the Staff Leadership Award.

The Distinguished Service Award will be presented to Hope Furrer, principal of Hope Furrer Associates, Inc. Furrer is a 1973 Penn State alumna holding a bachelor of architectural engineering degree.

Lori Miraldi, director of the Engineering Ambassadors Program and Student Engagement Initiatives, will be honored with the Lawrence J. Perez Memorial Student Advocate Award.

The Young Alumni Achievement Award recipient is Natalie Miller, senior project manager at Davis Construction. Miller graduated in 2009 with a bachelor of architectural engineering degree.

Last Updated September 25, 2018