IST announces 2020 Dean's Circle of Teaching Excellence recipients

The Westgate Building has been home to the College of Information Sciences and Technology since 2003. Credit: Penn State / Penn StateCreative Commons

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. — For their contributions to the teaching mission of the College of Information Sciences and Technology, nine faculty members have been selected as recipients of the 2020 Dean’s Circle of Teaching Excellence award.

In its second year, the program recognizes outstanding contributions in education —through classroom teaching, mentoring of students, curriculum development and other academic-related activities at the undergraduate or graduate levels.

The 2020 recipients, selected by Andrew Sears, dean of the College of IST, are:

  • Patrick Dudas, assistant teaching professor
  • Steve Haynes, teaching professor
  • Mike Hills, associate teaching professor
  • Dave Hozza, lecturer
  • Alison Murphy, assistant teaching professor
  • Jeff Rimland, assistant teaching professor
  • Don Shemanski, professor of practice
  • James Wang, professor
  • Ting Wang, assistant teaching professor

Hozza, Murphy, and Shemanski also earned this distinction last year.

“We have many world-class faculty members who bring significant expertise and experience to the college’s classrooms,” said Sears. “This recognition honors those who go above and beyond, to significantly impact our academic programs and the overall success of our students.”

The Dean’s Circle of Teaching Excellence was established in 2019 to highlight the important impact faculty have through teaching-focused activities in support of the College of IST’s teaching mission. The college regularly honors research achievements throughout the year, as well as at the annual IST Faculty and Staff Awards ceremony.

Last Updated May 11, 2020