Penn State Fayette faculty and staff receive excellence awards

Penn State Fayette, The Eberly Campus recognized outstanding achievement and service among its faculty and staff at a special awards banquet recently. Awards were presented in nine categories after nominations were considered by the various awards committees this spring.

The excellence awards for 2010 include:

2010 Administrative Excellence Award -- presented to Paula Congelio, director of Finance and Business, who received this award for her outstanding service to the Penn State Fayette campus, which includes her financial prudence and her dedication to providing thoughtful, fair and professional service to Penn State faculty, staff and students.

2010 Public Service Excellence Award -- presented to Jo Ann Jankoski, assistant professor in human development and family studies, who dedicates her time and talents to causes in the community including: the Fayette County Disaster Crisis Outreach and Referral Team and Suicide Task Force; Domestic Violence Service of Fayette County; Chestnut Ridge Counseling Services; Red Cross; Crime Victim’s Center; and she is a member of the Uniontown Auxiliary Police. She was honored by the Pennsylvania House of Representatives in October 2009 for her dedicated civic endeavors and professional excellence, and has received numerous awards including: the Community Activist Award from the National Alliance of the Mentally Ill and the Department of Public Welfare; the Humanitarian Award from the Fayette County Branch NAACP; the Community Recognition Award from the Fayette County Mental Health Mental Retardation Advisory Board; and the Soroptimist Woman of the Year Award.

2010 Scholarly Excellence Award -- presented to Jerrold Hoeg, professor of Spanish, who has seven peer-reviewed publications; edited four books; published five book chapters, two encyclopedia entries, and five non-refereed publications; completed six book reviews; gave eight presentations; and received four grants.

2010 Support Services Excellence Award -- presented to Sherry Scully, administrative support assistant for Student and Enrollment Services, for providing superior service on a daily basis. She is dedicated to top-quality customer service in every aspect of her professional life and is a student advocate.

2010 Teaching Excellence Award -- presented to Kevin Maxwell, mathematics instructor, for engaging students and helping them tackle mathematics and statistics. One peer observed Maxwell as an instructor who believes in the importance of his subject, and who is an organized, encouraging and excellent teacher.

Adjunct Teaching Excellence Award -- presented to Sharon Harrold, instructor of mammalian anatomy and physiology lectures and labs, for her impressive record of teaching and service. Her service goes beyond the duties of the classroom, including her co-presentation this year at a Faculty Colloquium on the biology and the medical presentation of the swine flu.

Barbara B. Solesky Staff Assistance Excellence Award -- presented to Billie Jo Yuhaniak, staff assistant to the chancellor, for her excellence, professionalism, concern for others and a sense of humor. She exemplifies a graciousness and patience to everyone with whom she comes in contact.

Rose Ann Williams Staff Mentoring Award -- presented to Rita Gumbert, assistant to the financial officer, for her dedication to her job, willingness to assist in all endeavors, her unflagging spirit and the time she devotes to her work.

Ellen M. Laun Advising Excellence Award -- presented to Kevin Maxwell, mathematics instructor, for going far and beyond what is required for good advising in math and other areas. Numerous students and staff commend his knowledge, and his patience and training abilities for other faculty to become advisers.

  • Also honored at the awards banquet was Penn State Fayette retiree JoAnn Harris, as well as faculty and staff who reached significant years of service milestones:
  • -- Five years: Paula Congelia and Joseph Friend
  • -- Ten years: Frank Georgiana, Tammy Shaffer, Judith Sturges, and Donald Wilson
  • -- Fifteen years: Eric Cohen and Scott Williams
  • -- Twenty years: Joyce Barnhart, Ivko Dimitric, Adrezej Gapinski, and Joshua Marvit
  • -- Twenty-five years: Dianna (Dee) Palmer

From left, Paula Congelio, Billie Jo Yuhaniak, Sherry Scully, Rita Gumbert, Sharon Harrold and Francis Achampong. Credit: Susan Brimo-Cox / Penn StateCreative Commons

Last Updated January 09, 2015