Penn State Smeal names spring 2020 Senior Award honorees

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. — The Penn State Smeal College of Business recognizes graduating seniors each spring with six named awards. Seniors who are graduating in spring, summer, or fall of the same year are eligible.

Recipients will be recognized at commencement and receive a Nittany Lion statuette. Recipients of the Eisenhower, Leffler, Stevens and Wherry awards also receive a monetary award.

The six awards are listed below with descriptions of each and this year’s recipient(s):

Helen Eakin Eisenhower Award: Awarded to graduating seniors who have demonstrated scholarship, leadership, character, and service to the Smeal College of Business.

  • Frankie Haver, Risk Management (Actuarial Science)/Spanish

The George Leland Leffler Scholarship: Awarded to an outstanding finance major.

  • Emma Lee, Finance/Economics

The John M. and Anne B. Stevens Academic Integrity Award: Awarded to a graduating senior or seniors who demonstrate leadership in academic integrity by serving on a college committee, task force or in a leadership role, dedicated to upholding the Smeal Honor Code and to promoting a culture of academic integrity.

  • Matthew Beyerle, Accounting/Finance
  • Francesco Liciaga, Supply Chain and Information Systems

Ralph H. Wherry Student Service Award: This award honors graduating seniors who excelled in service to the college, have exhibited academic achievement, and manifest the promise of a successful professional career.

  • Jessica Anninos, Finance
  • Sydney Brougher, Accounting (MAcc)
  • Courtney Fisher, Finance
  • Nimay Godbole, Finance
  • Katie Gustas, Supply Chain and Information Systems
  • Kerry Lyons, Marketing
  • Kylie Miller, Management
  • Sarah Roman, Supply Chain and Information Systems
  • Demetrios Speros, Management Information Systems

The Diversity Leadership Award: This award honors a graduating Smeal student who demonstrates leadership activities that promote the college’s efforts to build a culture that welcomes, celebrates, and promotes diversity.

  • Alejandra Castaneda, Management Information Systems/International Politics

The Smeal Alumni Society Board Award: This award honors a Smeal graduating student who has demonstrated outstanding leadership and scholarship, and has an interest in staying involved with the college as an alumnus/alumna.

  • Elissa Adams, Accounting (MAcc)
Last Updated April 30, 2020