Students receive 2019 Whiting Indigenous Knowledge Student Research Awards

Penn State graduate students Richard Caneba, Christian Kelly Scott and Ryan Naylor have been selected as the recipients of the 2019 Whiting Indigenous Knowledge Student Research Awards. Credit: photos providedAll Rights Reserved.

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. — The Interinstitutional Center for Indigenous Knowledge (ICIK) has selected the winners of its 2019 Whiting Indigenous Knowledge Student Research Awards, funded by the M. G. Whiting Endowment for the Advancement of Indigenous Knowledge. Applicants must be Penn State students planning to conduct research related to an approved topic for an undergraduate capstone course, honors thesis topic, master’s or doctoral thesis, or similar.

The 2019 Whiting Award winners are:

— Richard Caneba, a doctoral candidate in the College of Information Sciences and Technology, for “Power, Knowledge, and Indigenous Ways-of-Knowing in the Information Age: A Postcolonial Perspective on Indigenous IT and STEM Educational Outreach in Canada”;

— Christian Kelly Scott, a doctoral candidate studying rural sociology and international agriculture and development, for “The Pasture, the Village, and the People: Food Security Endowments and Abatements in the Southern Kyrgyz Highlands”; and

— Ryan Naylor, a master’s degree candidate studying recreation, park and tourism management, for “Tribes, Timber, and Tourism in the Nation's Largest National Forest: Emic Perspectives of Indigenous Alaskans on the Tourism Development unfolding in Tongass National Forest.”

Whiting Award recipients must conduct research on their project between April 2019 and January 2020 and present their research findings or project results at a fall 2019 or spring 2020 ICIK seminar. They also are required to write an article highlighting the indigenous knowledge aspects of their project for publication in the ICIK journal “IK: Other Ways of Knowing.”

For additional information about the recipients and their research, visit

Last Updated June 03, 2019