Penn State Blue and White Vision Council members announced

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. -- Penn State today (Nov. 16) announced members of its Blue and White Vision Council, which is expected to identify key strategic challenges and opportunities facing the University over the next several years.

The council, previously announced by Board of Trustees Chairman Karen Peetz at a special meeting of the Board in August, is composed of student, faculty, staff, academic and campus leadership, as well as representatives from Penn State Hershey Medical Center and the Board of Trustees.

Stanley Ikenberry, former president of the American Council on Education and past president of the University of Illinois and current senior fellow at Penn State, will advise the council.

By mid-year 2013, the Blue and White Vision Council is expected to provide strategic planning recommendations, in advance of the selection of a new Penn State president. The group held its first meeting Oct. 27. A link from the Board of Trustees website will be available soon and will provide progress updates, as well as future meeting dates and locations.

“The members of the Blue and White Council are providing a critical service at an important time in Penn State’s long history of outstanding performance and educational results,” explained Peetz. “Higher education throughout the nation faces an array of issues in the years ahead. Penn State needs to be not only prepared, but continue to lead.”

Members of the Blue and White Vision Council are:

Michael A. Adewumni, vice provost for Global ProgramsLori J. Bechtel-Wherry, chancellor, Penn State AltoonaIngrid M. Blood, professor of communication disordersAlvin H. Clemens, trustee, senior partner, Agility-Partners LLCMark H. Dambly, trustee, president, Pennrose Properties LLCStephanie N. Deviney, trustee, attorney at law, Fox Rothschild LLPWilliam E. Easterling, dean, College of Earth and Mineral SciencesWanika B. Fisher, graduate student and president of the Graduate Student AssociationHenry C. Foley, vice president for research and dean of the Graduate SchoolDavid J. Gray, senior vice president for finance and business/treasurerDonald C. Hambrick, Evan Pugh Professor and Smeal Chaired Professor of ManagementTracy S. Hoover, associate dean, undergraduate education, College of Agricultural SciencesPeter J. Hudson, director, Huck Institutes for the Life Sciences and Willaman Professor of BiologyKeith E. Masser, vice chair of the Board of TrusteesJoel N. Myers, trustee, president, AccuWeather Inc.Robert N. Pangborn, interim executive vice president and provostKaren B. Peetz, chairwoman, Board of Trustees, vice chairman and chief executive officer of financial markets and treasury services, Bank of New York MellonKathleen M. Quinn, student, University Park Undergraduate Association and Schreyer Honors College representative to Academic Affairs CommitteeCarl T. Shaffer, trustee, president, Pennsylvania Farm BureauPaul V. Suhey, trustee, orthopedic surgeon, Martin & Suhey OrthopedicsJohn P. Surma, trustee, chairman and chief executive officer, United States Steel Corp.Adam J. Taliaferro, trustee, health care alliance liaison, Bristol Myers SquibbRonald J. Tomalis, trustee, secretary, Pennsylvania Department of EducationCraig D. Weidemann, vice president, OutreachSusan Welch, dean, College of the Liberal ArtsRobin D. Wittenstein, director and chief operating officer, Penn State Hershey Health System

For more information on efforts and actions of the University, visit online.

For more information on the Board of Trustees, including agendas, meeting minutes, and other information, visit


Last Updated May 24, 2019