Faculty and Staff

Two law faculty members receive Fulbright Scholar awards

Beth Farmer and Gary Gildin, professors of law at Penn State's Dickinson School of Law, have been awarded Fulbright Scholar grants for the 2007-2008 academic year, according to the U.S. Department of State and the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board.

Farmer has been awarded a grant to conduct research at one of China's leading universities next spring. In order to facilitate a rapidly growing market economy, China is actively engaged in legal and regulatory reform that includes the adoption and enforcement of an effective antitrust law, a draft of which is currently before a committee of the People's Congress. Capitalizing on this important moment in Chinese history, Farmer will conduct research on the development of the anti-monopoly law, its substantive legal principles and opportunities for international cooperation between Chinese and other antitrust enforcement agencies. Additionally, she will use her expertise in U.S. and international antitrust law to teach law students, scholars and lawyers about competition to help prepare them to practice and enforce Chinese antitrust law.

Gildin has been awarded the University of Ottawa research chair in international humanitarian law. His primary project will compare the circumstances under which the United States and Canada provide, or fail to provide, remedies when the government violates rights guaranteed by the U.S. Constitution and Canadian Charter of Liberties. Gildin will carry out his research at the Human Rights Research and Education Centre, Faculty of Law, Civil Law Section, at the University of Ottawa. The centre is committed to furthering the discussion of the linkages between human rights, governance, legal reform and development.

Farmer and Gildin are two of approximately 800 U.S. faculty and professionals who will travel abroad to approximately 140 countries for the 2007-2008 academic year through the Fulbright Scholar Program. The Fulbright Program, America's flagship international educational exchange activity, is sponsored by the U.S. Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. Recipients of Fulbright Scholar awards are selected on the basis of academic or professional achievement and because they have demonstrated extraordinary leadership potential in their fields.

Last Updated July 22, 2015