CLGBTE announces service award winners

CLGBTQE Awards recognize individuals who strive to improve the climate for and who have made outstanding contributions to the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer (LGBTQ) community at Penn State. Credit: Penn State / Penn StateCreative Commons

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. — Each year the Commission on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Equity (CLGBTE) recognizes the contributions of individuals in the Penn State community throughout the Commonwealth who have shown outstanding service and academic achievement in the areas of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) advocacy and scholarship. While there are many who work tirelessly throughout the academic year for the LGBTQ community, the Outstanding Service and Academic Achievement awards recognize individuals who have made particularly significant contributions to the Penn State LGBTQ population. 

The 2016 honorees will receive their awards at the 25th anniversary Gala at The Nittany Lion Inn on April 21. The following individuals will be recognized:

2016 Outstanding Service Award: FacultyAnthony R. D’Augelli, professor of human development

2016 Outstanding Service Award: StaffBekah Saidman-Krauss, assistant dean for admissions and financial aid, Penn State Dickinson LawBarbara L. Welshofer, senior diversity planning analyst, Office of the Vice Provost for Educational Equity

2016 Outstanding Service Award: StudentBrett Atanasio, law student, Penn State Law

2016 Academic Achievement Award: FacultyChristopher Reed, professor of English and visual culture

2016 Academic Achievement Award: StudentAlphonso Walter Grant, graduate student, art education and African American and diaspora studies

The commission will also be honoring the life, spirit and accomplishments of Penn State student Eli Roe.

To learn more about CLGBTE, visit

Last Updated May 10, 2016