Miller to serve as dermatology department chair at Penn State Hershey

Penn State Milton S. Hershey Medical center has named Dr. Jeffrey J. Miller to chair the Department of Dermatology. He will assume his new role effective July 1.

Miller currently serves as associate dean for academic affairs, as well as vice chair and professor of dermatology at Penn State Hershey. He received his undergraduate degree from the University of Notre Dame. After finishing his medical training at Jefferson Medical College, Miller completed his dermatology residency and a clinical educator fellowship in the Department of Dermatology at the University of Pennsylvania. In 2010, he received his master of business administration from Penn State Smeal College of Business.

Miller has been a dermatology faculty member at Penn State Hershey since 1998, in which time he has earned dozens of teaching awards, including the 2012 Dean’s Award for Excellence in Teaching. His administrative background includes serving as former associate chief medical officer for Penn State Hershey Medical Group, co-director for the Leadership Academy and associate dean of administration. He also has helped guide Penn State Hershey's strategic planning process.

Miller is a former president of the Pennsylvania Academy of Dermatology and participates on a national level in the Association of Professors of Dermatology and the American Academy of Dermatology. His scholarship in the areas of general dermatology, hair loss disorders and academic leadership has resulted in numerous national presentations and 50 peer-reviewed publications. He is also the co-author of two dermatology textbooks.

“Given his established commitment to teaching, mentorship, research and patient care, as well as his administrative contributions to Penn State Hershey, Dr. Miller is well-suited to lead our Department of Dermatology,” said Dr. Harold L. Paz, chief executive officer of Penn State Hershey Medical Center and Health System, Penn State’s senior vice president for health affairs, and dean, Penn State College of Medicine.

Miller succeeds Dr. James G. Marks, Jr., founding chair of dermatology, who is retiring from the role after more than three decades of service to Penn State Hershey.

Dr. Jeffrey J. Miller Credit: Penn StateCreative Commons

Last Updated May 06, 2014