Seven faculty named Fellows of AAAS

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. -- Seven Penn State faculty members have been named Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

The Fellows are Ottar N. Bjørnstad, professor of entomology, biology and statistics; Squire J. Booker, professor of chemistry and biochemistry and molecular biology; William H. Brune, chair and Distinguished Professor of Meteorology; Kevin P. Furlong, professor of geosciences; Bruce E. Logan, Evan Pugh Professor of Environmental Engineering and Kappe Professor of Environmental Engineering; Alan M. MacEachren, professor of geography; and James R. Broach, chair and professor of biochemistry and molecular biology, College of Medicine.

The American Association for the Advancement of Science is the world's largest general scientific society and the publisher of the journal Science. Election as an AAAS Fellow is an honor bestowed upon members by their peers. This year, 388 Fellows were selected for their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. The Fellows will receive certificates and pins on Feb 15 at the AAAS Fellows Forum during the 2014 AAAS Annual Meeting in Chicago.

Bjørnstad was named a Fellow for distinguished contributions to the field of theoretical biology, particularly in the areas of outbreak ecology and ecological statistics.

Booker receives his award for distinguished contributions to the field of mechanistic enzymology, particularly on enzymes employing free-radical mechanisms and those in the radical-SAM superfamily.

Brune receives his award for superb science leadership and distinguished contributions toward a comprehensive understanding of reactive species photochemistry and oxidant and aerosol formation in the atmosphere.

Furlong was named a Fellow for distinguished contributions to understanding thermal controls on lithospheric rheology, the tectonics of unstable triple junctions (the place where three tectonic plates meet) and implications for crustal evolution and earthquake hazard.

Logan will become a Fellow for important contributions to environmental engineering, with pioneering research in microbial fuel cells and related electrochemical technologies for achieving an energy sustainable water infrastructure.

MacEachren will be honored for distinguished research and leadership in the understanding of cartographic symbolization, geovisualization and the effective use of mapped information.

Broach is recognized for distinguished contributions to the files of integrative genomics, computational biology and personalized medicine.

Last Updated November 25, 2013