University Park

2010 Faculty/Staff Award recipients announced, lauded for achievements

University Park, Pa. -- Each year, Penn State honors several members of its faculty and staff for the highest levels of academic excellence, outstanding leadership and meritorious service. The 2010 Faculty/Staff Award recipients -- 33 outstanding University employees -- reach across campuses, colleges and administrative units and exemplify best practices and achievements among Penn Staters reflecting the University's mission of teaching, research and service.

The honorees will receive their awards at a ceremony at noon Monday, April 12, at the Nittany Lion Inn.

Links to all 20 articles about this year's award recipients are available at The award recipients are listed below by category.

Undergraduate Faculty Teaching Awards

  • The Milton S. Eisenhower Award for Distinguished Teaching: Carolyn Mahan, associate professor of biology and co-chair, interdisciplinary program in environmental studies, Penn State Altoona
  • The George W. Atherton Award for Excellence in Teaching: Mark Anner, assistant professor of labor studies and employment relations and of political science, College of the Liberal Arts; Elizabeth Bates, instructor, School of Nursing, University Park (Hershey campus); Thomas M. Cody, instructor in music theory, College of Arts and Architecture; Melissa Murry Eaton, assistant professor of psychology, Penn State Shenango; B.C. Ben Park, associate professor of sociology, Penn State DuBois; and Russell Warley, assistant professor of mechanical engineering, Penn State Erie, The Behrend College
  • The Alumni/Student Award for Excellence in Teaching -- Janet Lyon, associate professor of English, College of the Liberal Arts; Matthew P. McAllister, professor of film/video and media studies, College of Communications; and Oranee Tawatnuntachai, associate professor of finance, Penn State Harrisburg
  • The Penn State Excellence in Advising Award: Faculty -- Jo Ann Jankoski, assistant professor of education, Penn State Fayette, The Eberly Campus; Staff -- Keely Roen, instructor in wildlife technology, Penn State DuBois
  • The President's Award for Excellence in Academic Integration: R. Scott Kretchmar, professor of exercise and sport science, College of Health and Human Development
  • The President's Award for Engagement with Students: Richard Bell, associate professor of chemistry, Penn State Altoona
  • The Undergraduate Program Leadership Award: Robert W. Speel, associate professor of political science at Penn State Erie, The Behrend College


Graduate Faculty Teaching Awards

  • The Howard B. Palmer Faculty Mentoring Award: Caroline D. Eckhardt, professor of comparative literature and English and head of the Department of Comparative Literature, College of the Liberal Arts
  • The Graduate Faculty Teaching Award: R. Scott Kretchmar, professor of exercise and sport science, College of Health and Human Development
  • The Graduate Program Chair Leadership Award: Robert R. Edwards, Edwin Erle Sparks professor of English and comparative literature, College of the Liberal Arts


Faculty Scholar Medals

  • Arts and Humanities Medal: Thomas O. Beebee, distinguished professor of comparative literature and German, College of the Liberal Arts
  • Engineering Medal: Padma Raghavan, professor of computer science and engineering, College of Engineering
  • Life and Health Sciences Medal: Edward C. Holmes, distinguished senior scholar, Eberly College of Science
  • Physical Sciences Medal: Philip C. Bevilacqua, professor of chemistry, Eberly College of Science
  • Social and Behavioral Sciences Medal: Alan MacEachren, professor of geography, College of Earth and Mineral Sciences


Faculty and Staff Achievement Awards

  • The Barash Award for Human Service: Jeffrey Smith, executive director, outreach finance, facilities and technology
  • The McKay Donkin Award: Sandra K. Stelts, curator of rare books and manuscripts, Special Collections Library
  • The Award for Administrative Excellence: Christopher A. Fivek, senior director of operations, College of Information Sciences and Technology
  • The Staff Excellence Award: Susan King, records manager, University Office of Global Programs
  • The Support Staff Award: Paul Chocallo, group leader and lead maintenance mechanic, Penn State Wilkes-Barre
  • The Dr. James Robinson Equal Opportunity Award: Daniel Willis, professor of architecture, College of Arts and Architecture
  • The W. LaMarr Kopp International Faculty and Staff Achievement Award: Faculty -- Duarte Morais, associate professor of recreation, park and tourism management, College of Health and Human Development, and Ladislaus Semali, associate professor of education, College of Education; Staff -- Cynthia Nicosia, director of graduate enrollment services, The Graduate School
  • The Penn State Award for Faculty Outreach: Karen Bierman, Distinguished Professor of Psychology, College of the Liberal Arts, and director, Child Study Center

A full description of each of the Faculty/Staff Awards with contacts for further information is online at

Last Updated March 10, 2011