University Leadership

Penn State is a leader in higher education and carries out its mission of teaching, research, and service with pride and focus on the future. Our leadership in administration, faculty, and staff make our mission come alive every day.

We strive to celebrate diversity in all aspects of our educational and operational activities. Our strategic plans are designed to result in ongoing improvements that help prepare future generations of leaders. Our budget is an integral part of our strategic process.

The Board of Trustees reviews and approves the budget of the University and guides general goals, policies, and procedures from a big-picture perspective.

The President’s office ensures that all aspects of the University are running smoothly and promotes overall principles that students, faculty, and staff abide by for the long term.

The University Faculty Senate represents the Penn State faculty with legislative authority on all matters regarding the University's educational interests.

President's Council Members

Neeli Bendapudi, President

Tracy Langkilde, Interim Executive Vice President and Provost

Jeff Adams, Interim Vice Provost and Dean for Undergraduate Education

Kathleen Bieschke, Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs

Margo E. DelliCarpini, Vice President for Commonwealth Campuses and Executive Chancellor

Andrea Dowhower, Vice President for Student Affairs

Shannon S. Harvey, Assistant Vice President and Secretary to the Board of Trustees

David Horton, Vice President for Information Technology/Chief Information Officer

Karen Kim, Dean, College of Medicine

Patrick Kraft, Vice President for Intercollegiate Athletics

David Lieb, Interim Vice President for Development and Alumni Relations

Stephen M. Massini, Chief Executive Officer, Penn State Health

Matt Melvin, Vice President for Enrollment Management

Tabitha R. Oman, Vice President and General Counsel

Rachel A. Pell, Vice President for Strategic Communications

Andrew Read, Senior Vice President for Research

William Sitzabee, Vice President for Facilities Management and Planning

Michael Wade Smith, Senior Vice President and Chief of Staff

Allan G. Sonsteby, Executive Director of Applied Research Laboratory

Michael D. Stefan, Vice President for Government and Community Relations

Larry D. Terry II, Vice President for Outreach

Sara Thorndike, Senior Vice President for Finance and Business/Treasurer

Marcus A. Whitehurst, Vice Provost for Educational Equity

Jennifer R. Wilkes, Vice President for Human Resources and Chief Human Resources Officer