<—Previous   Back to main page   Next—>


Poor's "Old Boys" —prominent individuals who played a part in the early growth of the University— (left to right) William G. Waring, James McKee, Moses Thompson, James Irvin, Evan Pugh, Harriet McElwain, William A. Buckhout, George W. Atherton, Ralph Dorn Hetzel, and Fred Lewis Pattee. As then-current president, Hetzel did not belong in this group, so Poor perhaps included him as a courtesy. Poor inserted this panel to span the chronological gap between the old and the new.