The Arts

Odyssey Through Literature Ceramics in Pattee Library
Entomology exhibit Center for the Performing Arts



The exhibition "Betye Saar: Tangled Roots"
continues at the Palmer Museum of Art on the
University Park Campus through July 21.


Odyssey Through Literature

On the May 12 episode of Odyssey Through Literature, Roberta Salper of Penn State Erie, The Behrend College, discusses gender and satire in the portrayals of women by Spanish writer Ramon del Valle Inclan.

Salper and host S. Leonard Rubinstein also discuss the 19th-century phenomenon of "brain strain" which is dealt with in the work of Valle Inclan. "Brain strain" was the idea that forbade women any intellectual activity that would jeopardize their delicate fragile minds.

On the May 19 episode, Susan Albertine of Susquehanna University discusses 19th-century business women and their journey to success.

Odyssey Through Literature is produced at WPSX-TV as a continuing education service of the Department of Comparative Literature. It airs Sundays at 6:30 p.m. on WPSU, 91.5 FM. A complete schedule can be found on their World Wide Web site at http://mickey.la.psu.edu/complit/odyssey/odyssey.htm.


Back to top of page


Ceramics in Pattee Library

An exhibition of current work by Michael Mopps will be on display in Pattee Library's East Corridor Gallery through May 31.

This exhibition features large-scale ceramic pieces. Mopps creates ceramics that he glazes and fires himself. He received his bachelor of arts degree in visual arts from Lander University and his master's of education from Penn State in 1994. Currently, Mopps is employed as an art instructor by the Greenville County Museum of Art and the Greenville Technical College in Greenville, S.C.


Back to top of page


Entomology exhibit

The Department of Entomology has an exhibition of photographs in Pattee Library's West Lobby Gallery through May 31.

The exhibition includes images from two projects organized by Scott Camazine of the entomology department. The first study is an examination of floral pollens used by honey bees in the early spring. The second project is an ongoing effort to document the diversity and beauty of insects and includes portraits of common species.


Back to top of page


Center for the Performing Arts

The Center for the Performing Arts announced its 1996-97 season, featuring 34 events in nine subscription series at the University Park Campus. Subscriptions are on sale now.

The season offers two new series: Body Language, a dance series, and Forever Young, a family fun series. Also new this season is the Big 10 series, which allows patrons to pick any 10 events for a 25 percent savings on regular ticket prices.

A few highlights of the 1996-97 season include:

--A brand new version of "A Christmas Carol," a first of its kind collaboration between the center and the Department of Theatre Arts, will show for three performances Dec. 6 and 7.

--"Kiss of the Spiderwoman," winner of seven Tony Awards, including best musical, has become one of the most highly-lauded musicals in recent years. The deeply moving work to be shown Feb. 1 tells the story of two men of violently opposing personalities who share a prison cell.

--"Ain't Misbehavin," a rollicking tribute to Fats Waller, comes to Eisenhower Auditorium March 5 and 6.

--Gershwin on Ice, starring Peggy Fleming, will hold the distinction of being the first ice show performed on the Eisenhower stage at 8 p.m. Friday, Jan. 17.

--The Lewitzky Dance Company will present a new work co-commissioned by the Center for the Performing Arts called "Four Women in Time." The company will be in residence at Penn State for a week, culminating in a performance at 8 p.m. on Nov. 9.

--Roy Hargrove was rated by many jazz magazines as the number one trumpeter in the world last year. He brings his quintet to Penn State Oct. 5.

--The Flying Karamazov Brothers, a vaudeville-style comedy/theatre troupe, offer a performance on Oct. 6.

For a free brochure or more information, contact the Arts Ticket Center at (814) 863-0255. Outside the local calling area, phone (800) ARTS-TIX.

Other scheduled performances, all in Eisenhower Auditorium unless otherwise noted, include:

--Romeo and Juliet, 8 p.m. Saturday, Sept. 21

--Sanford Sylvan, baritone, and David Breitman, pianist, 8 p.m. Thursday, Sept. 26, Schwab Auditorium

--The Tibetan Song and Dance Ensemble from the Snow Fields of China, 8 p.m. Friday, Oct. 4

--Roy Hargrove Quintet, 8 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 5

--"The Sound of Music," 8 p.m. Thursday and Friday, Oct. 10 and 11

--New York Voices, 8 p.m. Thursday, Oct. 24

--London Chamber Orchestra, 8 p.m. Friday, Oct. 25

--"Annie Get Your Gun," 8 p.m. Tuesday, Oct. 29

--Brian Friel's "Philadelphia, Here I Come!," 8 p.m. Friday, Nov. 1

--Cathy and Marcy, 2 p.m. and 4 p.m. Sunday, Nov. 10

--Czech Philharmonic Orchestra, 8 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 16

--Amernet String Quartet with St. Lawrence String Quartet, 8 p.m. Thursday, Nov. 21, Schwab Auditorium

--Mummenschanz, 8 p.m. Friday, Jan. 24

--Martha Graham Dance Company, 8 p.m. Saturday, Jan. 25

--Mazowsze, 8 p.m. Thursday, Feb. 6

--"La Boheme," 8 p.m. Saturday, Feb. 8, and 3 p.m. Sunday, Feb. 9

--Battle of the Big Bands, Round 2, 8 p.m. Saturday, Feb. 15

--Nai-Ni Chen Dance Company, 3 p.m. Sunday, Feb. 16

--National Traditional Orchestra of China, 8 p.m. Saturday, Feb. 22

--Los Angeles Piano Quartet, 8 p.m. Saturday, March 1, Schwab Auditorium

--Artis Quartet, 8 p.m. Friday, March 21, Schwab Auditorium

--"Wind in the Willows," 3 p.m. Sunday, March 23

--"A Thousand and One Nights," 8 p.m. Friday, April 4

--"Grease," 8 p.m. Wednesday and Thursday, April 9 and 10

--Cleo Laine and the John Dankworth Group, 8 p.m. Saturday, April 12

--"To Kill a Mockingbird," 8 p.m. Friday, April 18

--Syracuse Symphony Orchestra, 8 p.m. Saturday, April 19

--"Singin' in the Rain," 8 p.m. Wednesday, April 30 and Thursday, May 1.


Back to top of page



Back to Intercom home page


Back to University Relations home page


Back to Penn State home page



This page was created by Annemarie Mountz.
Last updated by Kathy L. Norris on May 6, 1996.