May 7, 1996 Vol. 25 No. 32

New Faculty Senate
officers are installed

At the conclusion of the University Faculty Senate's April 23 meeting, its last for this academic year, outgoing senate Chairman Peter Jurs turned over the gavel to incoming chair Scott Kretchmar.

Both Jurs and Kretchmar praised the University administration, Jurs citing University President Graham B. Spanier's "appreciation for collegial governance and shared decision making," and Kretchmar his "refreshingly open, collaborative and collegial administration."

Joining Kretchmar as Senate officers for the coming year are chair-elect Louis F. Geschwindner Jr., who served as secretary this year, and Veronica Burns Lucas, the new secretary. George Franz is continuing as Senate parliamentarian.

In other business, the Senate:

clarified procedures for "academic renewal," through which former students may apply for readmission after an interruption of at least four calendar years;

made a single standing subcommittee responsible for reviewing all general education courses, rather than seven consultative committees;

changed from 30 days to 60 days the maximum period within which the Senate's Faculty Rights and Responsibilities Committee must decide whether it responds to a complaint by holding a formal hearing or conducting an informal review; and

revised its guidelines for giving immediate tenure to individuals being considered for faculty or administrative positions.

The Senate's first meeting of the fall 1996 semester will be held at 1:30 p.m. Sept. 10 in Room 112, Kern Building.

Back to special features index

Back to Intercom home page

Back to University Relations home page

Back to Penn State home page

This page was created by Annemarie Mountz.
Last updated May 7, 1996.