Intercom Online......October 22, 1998

Candidate proposals to be
considered for three awards

Nominations are being sought for the 1999 Atherton, Eisenhower and Alumni Teaching Fellow Teaching Awards. All of these awards will be presented at the University Awards Program on March 21, 1999.

* The George W. Atherton Award for Excellence in Teaching recognizes excellence in teaching performance at the undergraduate level. Up to four awards will be presented. Faculty members at all locations are eligible.

To be eligible for nomination for the Atherton Award, a faculty member must have been a full-time member of the University faculty for a minimum of three years, and have undergraduate teaching as a major portion of her or his assigned duties.

* The Milton S. Eisenhower Award for Distinguished Teaching is given in recognition of distinguished teaching at the University. Up to two awards will be presented. To be eligible, a faculty member must be tenured and employed as a full-time University faculty member for at least five years; and have undergraduate teaching as a major portion of her or his assignment. Members of a research staff, administrators (including department heads), and those who are predominantly teachers of graduate students are not eligible for this award.

* The Alumni Teaching Fellow Award, established jointly by the Alumni Association, the Undergraduate Student Government and the Graduate Student Association, honors outstanding teaching while providing encouragement and incentive for teaching excellence.

The recipient of this award is expected to share his or her talents and expertise with others throughout the University system. Yearlong responsibilities may include such activities as participating in workshops and symposia, giving lectures or presentations on teaching techniques for new faculty and graduate assistants, taking part in discussions or seminars with students in the University Scholars Program, and teaching honors courses.

To be eligible for nomination for the Alumni Teaching Fellow Award, a faculty member must be full-time, with a minimum of three years of teaching experience. Although not a prerequisite, nominations of former Atherton and Eisenhower award recipients are encouraged.

Deadline for nominations for these awards is Nov. 6. For more information check the Web at or call (814) 863-2599.

Back to news index

Back to Intercom home page

Digital Intercom is produced in the Office of University Relations at The Pennsylvania State University.
This page was created by Annemarie Mountz.
Updated by Chris Koleno