Penn Staters
Penn State Intercom......October 31, 2002

Dinesh Agrawal, professor of materials and director of the Microwave Processing and Engineering Center in the Materials Research Institute, gave several invited presentations on the microwave research at Wuhan University of Technology in Wuhan, China; National Tsing Hua University in Hsinchu, Taiwan; Kinik Co. in Taipei, Taiwan; TRDDC/TCS in Pune, India; Indian Institute of Technology in Kanpur, India; and Delhi University in India.

Donna S. Havens, Elouise Ross Eberly professor of nursing and professor-in-charge of research for the School of Nursing, has received an Alumni Medallion from Villanova University. Alumni medallions are awarded to graduates of Villanova's College of Nursing who have distinguished themselves within the nursing profession. Havens received her medallion as the result of her distinguished contributions to nursing research.

Loukas Kalisperis, professor of architecture in the School of Architecture and Landscape Architecture, and George Otto, manager of the Visualization Group in Graduate Education and Research Services in Information Technology Services, presented "Virtual Reality/Space Visualization in Design Education: The VR-Desktop Initiative" at the 20th Conference of Education and research in Computer-Aided Architectural Design in Europe in Warsaw, Poland. Co-authors with Kalisperis and Otto are Katsu Muramoto, associate professor of architecture; Jack S. Gundrum, senior applications programmer/analyst; Raymon Masters, manager, research programmer, and Brian Orland, department head and professor of landscape architecture. Kalisperis also presented "An Affordable Immersive Environment in Beginning Design Studio Education" with Muramoto at a conference of the Association for Computer Aided Design in Pomona, Calif. Those listed above also were co-authors for this paper.

Dr. Thomas Weida, associate professor in the Department of Family and Community Medicine in the College of Medicine at Hershey Medical Center, was elected vice speaker of the American Academy of Family Physicians’ (AAFP) governing body, the Congress of Delegates, and now serves on the academy’s board of directors. Founded in 1947, the AAFP represents more than 93,500 physicians and medical students nationwide.