Penn State Intercom......March 20, 2003

Greenberg wins Faculty Outreach Award

Mark T. Greenberg, who is nationally known for developing community coalitions to prevent delinquency, conduct disorder and substance abuse and to improve the quality of life for children and families, has won the 2003 Penn State Award for Faculty Outreach.

Greenberg holds the Edna P. Bennett Chair in Prevention Research and is professor of human development and family studies in the College of Health and Human Development. He also is founding director of the Prevention Research Center for the Promotion of Human Development and its satellite, the Harrisburg Center for Healthy Child Development.

The Harrisburg center works with local schools and private and public agencies to design and improve programs for children and youth in the Capital area. By establishing the Early Childhood Training Institute, for example, the Harrisburg Center provides advocacy, training, seminars and activities for parents and child-care providers.

With Pennsylvania's Commission on Crime and Delinquency, the Prevention Center provides technical assistance and evaluation to 10 sites, including Harrisburg, to implement Greenberg's school violence prevention program.

With Head Start programs in Lycoming and Clinton counties and the Capital area, the Prevention Center assists with and is evaluating a program that provides a teacher-delivered, school-based, social/emotional learning curriculum, based on Greenberg's research, at 16 sites.

Greenberg also is the University's principal investigator for a five-year project involving Iowa State University and Penn State. The program, called PROSPER, is supported by a $21 million grant from the U.S. National Institute on Drug Abuse and will involve about 10,000 youth in 28 communities in Pennsylvania and Iowa. PROSPER's goal is to decrease the occurrence of youth risk behaviors by promoting youth development and strong families.

The Faculty Outreach Award is endorsed by the provost and supported by the Coordinating Council for Outreach and Cooperative Extension and Outreach committee of the Faculty Senate.