The President's Award for Excellence in Academic Integration

The President’s Award for Excellence in Academic Integration is given to a full-time member of the faculty of the University who has exhibited extraordinary achievement in the integration of teaching, research or creative accomplishments, and service. The award was established in 1996 to recognize faculty members who have excelled in all three areas of their professions and consists of a specially-designated certificate and a cash gift in the amount of $3,000.  Recipients of the award typically have a strong outreach component as a substantive element of their scholarship.  The communities reached by faculty outreach activities are generally those not normally encountered during the performance of normal scholarly activities.

Nominations are being solicited from the academic deans and will be reviewed by a selection committee appointed by the Office of the President. Members of the 2016 selection committee are: Russell Barton, Senior Associate Dean for Research and Faculty, Smeal College of Business; Jane Charlton, Professor of Astronomy and Astrophysics, Eberly College of Science, and 2015 Recipient of the President’s Award for Excellence in Academic Integration; Gary Thompson, Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Education, College of Agricultural Sciences; and Kristin Woolever, Chancellor, Penn State Brandywine, and Chair of the Committee.

The deadline for nominations is Monday, January 11, 2016. The award will be presented at the Faculty/Staff Awards Luncheon on Thursday, April 21, 2016, in the Ballroom of The Nittany Lion Inn.

Guidelines and criteria for nominations

Previous recipients of the President's Award

Vice Provost for Academic Affairs Directory


Vice Provost for Academic Affairs
201 Old Main
University Park, PA 16802
Phone: (814) 863-7494

Questions regarding web issues, please contact 814-863-7494

Web page last modified September 16, 2015