Former women's lacrosse coach Rattray to be inducted in hall of fame

Former Penn State women's lacrosse coach Gillian Rattray will be inducted in the Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association Hall of Fame in November. Credit: Penn State AthleticsAll Rights Reserved.

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. – Former Penn State women's lacrosse coach Gillian Rattray has been chosen to be inducted into the Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) Hall of Fame at a ceremony in Orlando, Fla., on Nov. 15.

Rattray coached the Nittany Lion lacrosse program from 1974-85, compiling a record of 143-19-2.  She is the all-time leader at Penn State in wins and led Penn State to a winning record in each of her 12 seasons.

She joins former William Smith College Head Coach Patricia Price Genovese and former Cornell/Maryland Head Coach Sue Tyler in the 2018 IWLCA Hall of Fame class.

The Nittany Lions won three straight USWLA National Championships from 1978-80. Penn State went 14-0-1 in 1978, 17-0 in 1979 and 14-1-2 in 1980.  The Nittany Lions made eight straight postseason appearances, including NCAA Tournament appearances in 1983-85, to close out her tenure.  She played a vital role in organizing the first collegiate Women's Lacrosse Championships in 1982.  After retiring from coaching, Rattray served as an assistant professor in the College of Health, Physical Education and Recreation at Penn State.

Rattray coached 28 All-Americans during her time in Happy Valley, including nine First Team selections in 1984 and 1985. Among the All-Americans is Marsha Florio (1982-85), who holds Penn State's career marks for points (380) and goals (271). Rattray coached four of the top 10 all-time points leaders, six of the Top 10 all-time goals leaders and three of the top 10 all-time assist leaders in program history.

She was already inducted into the U.S. Lacrosse Hall of Fame in 2005 and was recognized in 2017 as a U.S. Lacrosse Trailblazer with a special plaque along the Chris Sailer Trail at the U.S. lacrosse headquarters.  

Rattray also coached Penn State's field hockey team for 13 seasons, compiling a 176-49-21 record and winning back-to-back national titles in 1980 and 1981.  She led both the women's lacrosse and field hockey programs to national titles in 1980. She was inducted into the National Field Hockey Coaches Association Hall of Fame in 2004.

Last Updated September 14, 2018