2018 Commission for Women award recipients announced, lauded for achievements

The 2018 Commission for Women award winners are, from left: Bonifacia St George, Lucy Raftery, Cheryl Knobloch, Kathleen Noce, Leslie Pillen and Yvonne Gaudelius. Credit: Penn StateCreative Commons

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. — Each year, the Commission for Women honors individuals who have shown notable leadership and who are accomplished in their fields, have supported the University’s diversity efforts and promoted equal opportunity, and/or have contributed to human causes and public service activities. The 2018 Rosemary Schraer Mentoring Award and the Achieving Women Awards acknowledge and exemplify the achievements and contributions among Penn Staters, reflecting the University’s mission of mentorship, leadership, service and promoting diversity.

The honorees received their awards at the twelfth annual Commission for Women luncheon on Friday, April 13, in Presidents Hall of the Penn Stater Hotel and Conference Center. The keynote speech was delivered by Suzanne Adair, associate vice president for affirmative action.

Rosemary Schraer Mentoring Award

The Rosemary Schraer Mentoring Award was created in memory of Rosemary Schraer, former associate provost for Penn State. It honors a current University employee who exemplifies Schraer's giving of herself as a mentor.

  • Leslie Pillen, associate director of Farm and Food Systems at the Sustainability Institute, University Park

Achieving Women Awards

The Achieving Women Award recognizes Penn State women who have shown notable leadership and accomplishment in their fields, and have gone beyond the requirements of their employment duties and responsibilities in support of the University’s diversity efforts, promotion of equal opportunity or contribution to human causes and public service activities. The following people were honored:

  • Lucy Raftery, undergraduate student in business and liberal arts, Auxiliary and Business Services, University Park
  • Cheryl Knobloch, director of Women in Engineering, in the College of Engineering, University Park
  • Bonifacia St. George, pharmacy technician at University Health Services, University Park
  • Kathleen Noce, assistant professor in the School of Business, Penn State Erie, The Behrend Campus
  • Yvonne Gaudelius, associate vice president and senior associate dean of Undergraduate Education, University Park
Last Updated April 24, 2018