University Leadership

Penn State is a leader in higher education and carries out its mission of teaching, research, and service with pride and focus on the future. Our leadership in administration, faculty, and staff make our mission come alive every day.

We strive to celebrate diversity in all aspects of our educational and operational activities. Our strategic plans are designed to result in ongoing improvements that help prepare future generations of leaders. Our budget is an integral part of our strategic process.

The Board of Trustees reviews and approves the budget of the University and guides general goals, policies, and procedures from a big-picture perspective.

The President’s office ensures that all aspects of the University are running smoothly and promotes overall principles that students, faculty, and staff abide by for the long term.

The University Faculty Senate represents the Penn State faculty with legislative authority on all matters regarding the University's educational interests.

President's Council Members

Eric J. Barron, President

Nicholas P. Jones, Executive Vice President and Provost

Kelly M. Austin, Interim Senior Vice President for Commonwealth Campuses and Executive Chancellor

Anne (Sandy) Barbour, Vice President for Intercollegiate Athletics

Kathleen Bieschke, Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs

O. Richard Bundy III, Vice President for Development and Alumni Relations

Michael J. Büsges, Interim Vice President for Information Technology/Chief Information Officer

Stephen S. Dunham, Vice President and General Counsel

Yvonne Gaudelius, Vice President and Dean for Undergraduate Education

Lorraine A. Goffe, Vice President for Human Resources and Chief Human Resources Officer

Frank T. Guadagnino, Vice President for Administration; Associate General Counsel; Secretary, Board of Trustees

Shannon S. Harvey, Director and Associate Secretary, Board of Trustees

Tracey D. Huston, Vice President for Outreach

Lawrence H. Lokman, Vice President for Strategic Communications

Stephen M. Massini, Chief Executive Officer, Penn State Health

Zachery P. Moore, Vice President for Government and Community Relations

Damon Sims, Vice President for Student Affairs

William Sitzabee, Vice President for Facilities Management and Planning

Allan G. Sonsteby, Executive Director of the Applied Research Laboratory

Sara Thorndike, Senior Vice President for Finance and Business/Treasurer

Lora G. Weiss, Senior Vice President for Research

Marcus A. Whitehurst, Vice Provost for Educational Equity